Tuition and Fees
Further information regarding tuition and fees may be obtained at http://www.sbs.txstate.edu/.
The university reserves the right to change fees in keeping with the acts of the Texas Legislature and the Board of Regents of the Texas State University System. The payment of all fees entitles the student to admission to classes; admission to auditorium and athletic attractions; subscription to the University Star student newspaper; use of the L.B.J. Student Center and Recreational Sports Center, health services, and Sewell Park facilities; and group use of the Wimberley Camp. These fees also help provide funds for the Associated Students (student government), band, choir, dramatics, debate and other student activities.
Tuition for Excessive Undergraduate Hours
Texas Education Code §54.014 specifies that resident undergraduate students may be subject to a higher tuition rate for attempting excessive hours at any public institution of higher education while classified as a resident student for tuition purposes. Texas State students attempting hours in excess of their degree program requirements will be charged at the non-resident (out-of-state) tuition rate for those hours. Those students are categorized as follows:
- Students initially enrolled during or after the fall 2006 semester will be charged at the non-resident rate if, prior to the start of the semester or session, the student has previously attempted 30 or more hours over the minimum number of semester credit hours required for completion of the degree program in which the student is enrolled.
- Students initially enrolled during the fall 1999 through summer 2006 semesters will be charged at the non-resident rate if, prior to the start of the semester or session, the student has previously attempted 45 or more hours over the minimum number of semester credit hours required for completion of the degree program in which the student is enrolled.
Attempted courses include those courses attempted at Texas State or any Texas public institution of higher education. The following types of credit hours will count toward the excessive hour limit:
- hours earned in courses in which a grade is earned on the transcript;
- major courses;
- dual degree (excessive calculation assumes 30 hours);
- minor courses (for optional minors, excessive calculation assumes 18 hours. For minors above 18 hours, the academic advisor notifies Student Business Services to override the excess hours calculation);
- certificate courses
- teaching certification courses
- hours in distance and off-campus courses
- bankruptcy hours;
- repeated courses; and
- courses dropped after the official census date.
The following types of credit hours are exempt and will not count toward the limit:
- hours earned by the undergraduate before receiving a bachelor’s degree that has been previously awarded;
- hours earned through examination or similar method without registering for a course;
- hours from developmental courses or interventions, workforce education courses, or other courses that would not generate academic credit that could be applied to a degree at Texas State if the course work is within the 27-hour limit at two-year colleges and the 18-hour limit at general academic institutions;
- hours earned by the undergraduate at a private institution or an out-of-state institution;
- hours not eligible and/or not reported for state formula funding (i.e., correspondence or extension courses);
- hours earned by the undergraduate before graduating from high school and used to satisfy high school graduation requirements; and
- hours earned by the undergraduate ten or more years before beginning a new degree program under Academic Fresh Start as described in Texas Education Code §51.931 and Texas Education Code §61.0595(c).
- Effective summer 2017, the first additional 15 semester credit hours earned toward a degree program if a student has re-enrolled at an institution of higher education following a break in enrollment from the institution or another institution of higher education covering the 24-month period preceding the re-enrollment and that student has successfully completed at least 50 semester credit hours of course work at an institution of higher education before that break in enrollment.
Students with excessive hours are encouraged to contact their academic advisor to review their degree plan and insure that it is complete, accurate and to verify the hours required for completion.
Exceptions due to economic hardship are permitted under defined institutional policy. A student with an economic hardship is defined as someone who, at the time of registration, is documented with the Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships as being eligible for a Federal Pell Grant, regardless of whether they actually receive the funding due to enrollment status, non-satisfactory academic progress, or other reasons. Students who become Pell eligible, during the semester in which they are charged the non-resident tuition, may submit eligibility documents to the Student Business Services office no later than the official last class day of the semester in which the exception is being requested.
Tuition Rebate Program
Under Texas Education Code §54.0065, qualified students will receive up to a $1,000 tuition rebate upon graduation from Texas State. To determine eligibility for the rebate it is particularly important to follow the advice and counsel of an academic advisor. Application for the rebate must be made no sooner than the first day of the semester of graduation and no later than 60 days after graduation. Failure to graduate will require reapplication for the rebate for the next semester of eligibility.
To be eligible for the rebate program:
- Student must complete the tuition rebate application form and submit it to their academic advisor within 60 days of graduation date.
- The first enrollment in any institution of higher education must be in the fall 1997 semester or later.
- Students must have received their baccalaureate degree from a Texas public university.
- Student must be residents of Texas and entitled to pay resident tuition at all times while pursuing the degree.
- If enrolled for the first time in fall 2005 or later, students must graduate within four calendar years from the first semester enrolled for a four-year degree or within five calendar years for a five-year degree. Note that the four- or five-year time limit prescribed begins on the first day of the month for enrollment in the semesters described as follows: September for a fall semester, January for a spring semester, June for summer I, and August for summer II. For example, a student enrolling for the first time in fall 2006 for a four-year degree must complete that degree no later than September 1, 2010 to be eligible for the rebate.
- Student must attempt no more than three hours in excess of the minimum number of semester credit hours required to complete the degree under the catalog under which they graduate. Hours attempted include transfer credits, course credit earned exclusively by examination (except that, for the purposes of this Rebate Program, only the number of semester credit hours earned exclusively by examination in excess of nine semester credit hours is treated as hours attempted), courses that are dropped after the official census date (12th class day for fall and spring semesters, 4th class day for summer sessions, including mini-session), for-credit developmental courses, optional internship and cooperative education courses, and repeated courses. For students concurrently earning a baccalaureate degree and a Texas teaching certificate, required teacher education courses shall not be counted to the extent that they are over and above the free electives allowed in the baccalaureate degree program. Courses dropped for any reasons that are determined by the institution to be totally beyond the control of the student shall not be counted.
This tuition rebate program is designed to provide a financial incentive for students to complete their baccalaureate studies with as few extraneous courses as possible. Rebates will first be applied to outstanding obligations owed to Texas State prior to funds being issued to the student.
Appeals due to hardship are permitted under defined institutional policy. Effective for students who enroll for the first time in fall 2005 or later, an otherwise eligible student may be eligible for a rebate without satisfying the above requirements, if the student is awarded a baccalaureate degree and the college dean certifying the degree has determined, with the completion of a Tuition Rebate Hardship Justification form, that the student has demonstrated a hardship under any of the following conditions:
- a severe illness or other debilitating condition that may affect the student’s academic performance;
- an indication that the student is responsible for the care of a sick, injured, or needy person and that the student’s provision of care may affect his or her academic performance; or
- performance of active duty military service.
Special Fees and Charges
|Admission Application Fee||$60.00|
|Admissions/Evaluation Fee for International Applicants||$75.00|
|Athletic Training Fee (to sophomores who have earned competitive admission to the undergraduate athletic training education program)||$100.00|
|Auditing Fee||same as if course were taken for credit|
|Certificate Fee (payable when applying for teacher certification)|
Texas Standard Certificate
|Deficiency Plan Fees (for students seeking teacher certification)|
Additional Plans (each)
|Late Payment Fee (for installments not paid by due dates)||$25.00|
|Electronic Course Fee (per semester credit hour)||$50.00|
|Evaluation of Foreign Credentials (for domestic applicants)||$35.00|
|Payment Plan Enrollment Fee (for handling & other processing)||$30.00|
|Late Registration Fee|
Prior to first day of class
1st 7 class days - fall/spring
1st 2 class days - summer
8th through 12th class day - fall/spring
3rd-4th class days - summer
|Off-Campus Course Fee (per semester credit hour)||$30.00/semester credit hour|
|Orientation Fee (mandatory, non-refundable)||$60.00|
|Physical Therapy Application Fee||$50.00|
|Post-Baccalaureate Teaching Intern Application Fee||$500.00|
|Returned Item Fee (for handling and other processing)||$30.00|
|Transcript Fee (official copy)||$5.00|
Some fees are waived for students taking classes exclusively at the Round Rock Campus.
Campus Parking/Vehicle Registration Fee
Every faculty or staff member, or student, who operates or parks a vehicle on campus must:
- register the vehicle at Parking Services;
- purchase a permit;
- properly display the permit anytime the vehicle is parked on campus; and
- become familiar with and abide by the traffic and parking rules which are enforced at all times throughout the year.
Fees for vehicle registration will be published each year in the Schedule of Classes and in the official rules and regulations.The purchase of a permit and registration of the vehicle does not guarantee a parking space.
Additional information concerning the purchase and issuance of parking permits may be obtained by contacting Parking Services at 512-245-2887.
Vehicles may be registered online at www.parking.txstate.edu.
Course Repeat Fee
The Texas Legislature (TEC 54.014) eliminated funding to higher education for courses that are attempted three or more times. An attempted course is defined as any course in which a grade is earned on the transcript, including repeated courses and courses dropped with a grade of “W”.
In order to compensate for this loss of state funding, students attempting a course for the third or more time may be charged a fee in addition to the tuition charged for the course. The fee is subject to change each year upon action of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. This fee will be assessed for courses attempted at Texas State as of the fall semester of 2002 or later. This assessment does not include courses attempted at other colleges or universities.
Certain courses are exempt from this fee because they are designed to be repeated for additional credit, such as thesis, dissertation, and independent study courses; various music, physical education, physical fitness and wellness, studio art, and theatre courses; developmental education courses; and topics courses.
Exceptions due to economic hardship are permitted under defined institutional policy. A student with an economic hardship is defined as someone who, at the time of registration, is documented with the Office of Financial Aid and Scholarship as being eligible for a Federal Pell Grant, regardless of whether they actually receive the funding due to enrollment status, non-satisfactory academic progress, or other reasons. Students who become Pell eligible, during the semester in which they are charged the non-resident tuition, may submit eligibility documents to the Student Business Services office no later than the official last class day of the semester in which the appeal is being requested.
A student will be exempt from payment of higher tuition for any course repeated in the final semester in which the student is graduating, if the course(s) is taken for the purpose of receiving a grade that will satisfy a degree requirement. This exemption applies for only one semester. The exemption does not affect an institution’s ability to charge a higher rate for courses that cannot be reported for funding for other reasons such as the excess credit hour limit, or an institution’s ability to waive higher tuition rates for economic hardship. Students who are eligible for this exemption, during the semester in which they are charged the extra fee, may submit eligibility documents from their academic advisor to the Student Business Services office no later than the official last class day of the semester in which the appeal is being requested
International Student Operations Fee
All international students with an immigration status of “F1” or “J1” will be charged $60.00 per semester for the maintenance of records, compliance with government regulations, and other services.
The amount of lab fees varies on a per course basis. See the Schedule of Classes for current lab fees.
Texas State students, enrolled in a distance education course, who wish to take a course exam through the Testing, Research-Support, and Evaluation Center (TREC) or the Correspondence, Extension, and Study Abroad Programs Office in San Marcos, or the Round Rock Campus Testing Center, will be charged $20.00 per test. This fee applies only to students who wish to take a course exam through these offices rather than take the exam at the times offered as part of the distance education course.
Non-Texas State students, enrolled in a distance education course at another college or university, who wish to take a course exam at the Testing, Research-Support, and Evaluation Center or the Correspondence, Extension, and Study Abroad Programs Office in San Marcos, or the Round Rock Campus Testing Center, will be charged $40.00 per test.
Room and Board Rates
Information regarding room and board rates for a specific semester may be obtained at www.reslife.txstate.edu. Room and board is billed on a semester basis and may be paid in full at registration or in installments. All residence halls will be closed between semesters; however, Texas State may choose to keep some of the halls open during the break for an additional room charge.
Refund of Room and Board Fees
Any student who withdraws officially from Texas State may receive a refund on the unused portion of the room and board payment. Room and board charges will continue until the student has officially moved from university housing and has received written clearance from the director of Housing and Residential Life. Any refund due will be applied to any unpaid financial obligation with Texas State. If the refund exceeds any unpaid balance, a refund will be processed within 30 days to the permanent address on file in the University Registrar’s Office or deposited to the students’ bank account if they have signed up for direct deposit.
Student’s Financial Obligations
Students are expected to meet financial obligations to the university when they are due. Tuition is due on the date given in the academic calendar, and students are not entitled to attend classes unless the tuition bill has been paid in full or in accordance with an approved payment plan. Refer to Student Business Services website Payment Options for detailed information on payment options and requirements of payment plans.
Failure to pay the amount owed in the allotted time, or payments made with checks that are returned to Texas State unpaid by the bank may result in any or all of the following:
- Dismissal from the university.
- Withholding of future registration privileges.
- Withholding of grades or an official transcript.
- Withholding the conferring of a degree.
- Bar against re-admission for the student.
- Warrant hold with the State of Texas.
- Referral of debt to a collection agency.
If a check or electronic funds transfer is returned unpaid for any reason other than the admitted error of the bank, the student must pay for the returned check with cash, cashier’s check, money order or credit card (MasterCard, VISA, Discover, Diners Club or American Express) immediately. A $30.00 service fee is assessed for each returned check. Until the check is paid, the student will be on Cash Only status. Cash Only status is a denial of check cashing privileges on campus.
Individuals who have three returned checks or electronic funds transfers within a 12-month period, will be placed on Cash Only status.
Stopping payment on a check for fees or allowing the check to be returned unpaid by the bank for any reason does not constitute official withdrawal. Failure to follow procedures for withdrawing from Texas State may result in financial penalties and delays with future enrollment at the university.
Tuition, fees, and room and board may be paid through the following alternatives:
- Full payment is due prior to the beginning of the semester.
- Students may enroll in a payment plan. See: http://www.sbs.txstate.edu/.
Students are responsible for making their installment payments by the due date. For questions about due dates and amounts due, contact the Student Business Services Office at 512-245-2544. Students can check their balance and make payments online at http://www.sbs.txstate.edu/.
Late Payment Fees
A delinquent charge of $25 will be assessed the first day after the installment due date. Under Texas Education Code §54.007, a student who fails to make full payment of tuition and fees, including any incidental fees, by the due date may be prohibited from registering for classes until full payment is made. A student who fails to make full payment prior to the end of the semester or term may be denied credit for the work done that semester or term. See the Student Financial Obligation section for more details.
Enrolling for courses at Texas State University constitutes a financial obligation to the university. It is the student's responsibility to withdraw from the university prior to the first official university class day for any semester or term to avoid financial obligation. Withdrawal Information is available on the University Registrar website.
Dropping courses or withdrawing from the university does not relieve a student of their financial obligation to the university for any unpaid charges (including financial aid adjustments) incurred for the related semester or term. Refund percentages are applicable to all tuition and fees except non-refundable fees including late fees and orientation fees. Refunds of parking fees must be requested at the Parking Services office.
An immediate refund WILL NOT be made at the time a student withdraws. All refunds will be applied to remaining unpaid obligations, including registration balances for future terms, before funds are returned to the student.
Refunds on payments made by credit card will refunded back to the card. All other refunds will be processed as direct deposit (eRefund) or check. Refunds by check will be mailed to the student's address in the following priority (unless otherwise noted): (1) Mailing (2) Local (3) Permanent.
All refunds will be processed within 30 days.
Room and board refunds will be applied to any remaining financial obligation owed to Texas State. The additional charge for moving from one residence hall to another or moving into a private room will be added to the balance due.
Refunds in the Event of Death. In the event a student dies and a refund of tuition, fees, room and board, deposits, or other monies is due the estate of the deceased student, the university will, as soon as practicable after the death of the student, pay all refunds to the estate of the deceased student.
IMPORTANT: Dropping credit hours or withdrawing from the semester may affect the financial aid award. Students receiving financial aid should contact the Financial Aid and Scholarship Office before dropping or withdrawing. If hours have been dropped or the student has withdrawn from the university, the term balance may not reflect the necessary adjustments. Please allow a minimum 10 business day waiting period for award adjustments to be processed.
Dropping a course or courses means that there is at least one other course left in the registered schedule for a semester/term. Refer to the Academic Calendar or Refund Schedule for semester/term specific deadlines for drop refunds.
There is no refund for courses dropped after the 12th class day of the fall/spring term and 4th class day of a regular 5-week summer term*.
*Please note: Contact the University Registrar for specific drop dates for summer.
Withdrawing means a student will no longer be attending any course for the semester/term. Students must withdraw from ALL courses to be considered as withdrawn for the semester. Withdrawals are initiated in the office of the University Registrar. Please refer to the Academic Calendar or Refund Schedule for semester/term specific deadlines for withdrawal refunds. Withdrawal Information is available on the office of University Registrar website.