Additional Fees and Expenses
International Student Health Insurance Fee
All International students on non-immigrant F-1 and J-1 visas are required by university policy to have health insurance coverage while enrolled in classes at Texas State University.
- International students will be required to purchase the student health insurance plan endorsed by the university
- Students will have to purchase the health insurance directly from the health insurance plan
- Only students with employer or government sponsored health insurance plans will be considered for insurance waivers
Detailed information on how to purchase the health insurance or submit documents to request an insurance waiver will be sent to international students by the International Office. This information is available on the International Office website: http://www.international.txstate.edu/current/Health-insurance-.html.
International students will be able to purchase the health insurance online during Open Enrollment periods. The health insurance may be purchased on an annual basis or by semester. The health insurance plan must be purchased, or an insurance waiver approved, prior to the start of classes. Students who do not comply with this requirement will have a "Hold" placed on their student account. The "Hold" will be removed only after they purchase the student health insurance plan endorsed by the university. The have a "Hold" removed, students must email their proof of enrollment in health insurance to firstname.lastname@example.org. Health insurance holds will be removed by 5:00 p.m. the next business day.
Should you have any questions about the international student health insurance requirement, you may contact the International Office at email@example.com.
IMPORTANT: Students will receive notices about the health insurance requirement through their Bobcatmail account.
International Students Operations Fee
All international students with an immigration status of “F” or “J” will be charged $60.00 per semester for the maintenance of records, compliance with government regulations, and other services.
Administration fees will be charged for Proctoring Exam Services for Texas State Students and Non-Texas State students who wish to take a course exam at the Testing, Evaluation, and Measurement Center (TEMC) in San Marcos, or the Round Rock Campus Testing Center. The charge is $40.00 per test for exams two hours or less. The fee amount will vary with longer time limits. This fee also applies to students who wish to take a course exam through the TEMC rather than at the times offered as part of distance education courses. Students who request make-up exams allowed by Texas State faculty will also be charged $40.00 per test for exams two hours or less.
Varying fees will also be charged for:
- Exams for credit
- Placement and college readiness tests
- Accuplacer/Texas Success Initiative Assessment (TSIA)
- Texas Higher Education Assessment (THEA)
- Upper level barrier exams
- ATI TEAS BSN
- Punctuation, Usage, and Grammar (PUG)
Visit https://www.txstate.edu/temc/ for specific fees, additional services, and information.
Where auditing of a course is permitted, all fees will be the same as if the course were taken for credit. Senior citizens, 65 or older, may audit courses without payment of a fee if space is available.
Student Financial Obligations
Students are expected to meet financial obligations to the University when they are due. Tuition is due on the date given in the academic calendar, and students are not entitled to attend classes unless the tuition bill has been paid in full or in accordance with an approved payment plan. Refer to the Student Business Services website Payment Options for detailed information on payment options and requirements of payment plans.
Failure to pay the amount owed in the allotted time, or payments made with checks that are returned to Texas State unpaid by the bank may result in any or all of the following:
- Dismissal from the university,
- Withholding of future registration privileges,
- Withholding of an official transcript,
- Withholding the conferring of a degree,
- Bar against re-admission for the student,
- Warrant hold with the State of Texas,
- Referral of debt to a collection agency.
Late Registration Fee
A late fee will be charged if a student registers during the late registration period.
Late Payment Fee
A delinquent charge of $25 will be assessed the first day after the installment due date. Under Texas Education Code §54.007, a student who fails to make full payment of tuition and fees, including any incidental fees, by the due date may be prohibited from registering for classes until full payment is made. See the Student Financial Obligation section for more details.
Campus Parking/Vehicle Registration
Every student, faculty, and staff person who operates or parks a vehicle on campus must:
- register the vehicle with Parking Services;
- purchase a permit;
- properly display the permit any time the vehicle is parked on campus; and
- become familiar with and abide by the Traffic and Parking Rules.
The rules are enforced at all times throughout the year. The purchase of a permit and registration of the vehicle do not guarantee a parking space. Residence hall students must first submit an application to the Parking Services office before bringing a vehicle to campus. Residence hall parking spaces are limited, and it is recommended that on-campus residents not bring a vehicle to campus unless absolutely necessary. Commuters may register their vehicles on-line at http://www.parking.txstate.edu/.
Fees for vehicle registration will be published each year in the official rules and regulations and on the Parking Services website. Additional information concerning the purchase and issuance of parking permits may be obtained by contacting Parking Services at 512.245.2887.
Payment of Fees
Registration fees must be paid before classes begin. Refer to Student Business Services website Payment Methods for detailed information on payment methods accepted by the university.
- A 2.85% convenience fee with a minimum $3 per transaction fee is applied to credit/debit card payments (effective 9/2012). The convenience fee is not collected by the university and is therefore non-refundable.
- Mailed payments must be RECEIVED, not postmarked, BY THE DUE DATE. You must make allowances for any postal delays.
*You must have your NetID and password to access your account.
Registration Payment Options:
Refer to Student Business Services website Payment Options for detailed information on payment options and requirements for payment plans.
Please Note: Financial Aid and Tuition Adjustment Recipients
- Approved tuition adjustments will apply to your account as they are received. Please Note: The Billing and Payment site does take 24 hours to update with this information.
- Students will a financial aid credit or tuition adjustment that covers 100% tuition, fees, and room and board do not need to take action; credit will automatically apply.
- If the financial aid or tuition adjustment is not sufficient to cover 100% of your charges, you must pay the total balance due or enroll in a payment plan to avoid cancellation of your classes.
Tuition/fees and room/board may be paid through the following alternatives:
- Payment for tuition, fees, room, and board in full. See the Registration Information booklet for specific dates.
- Enrollment in a payment plan.
During the fall and spring terms, a down payment of 30% is due at the time of enrollment into the payment plan. Two additional installments of the remaining balance will be due on the designated due dates. See the Registration Information booklet for specific dates.
During the summer term, a down payment of 50% is due at the time of enrollment into the payment plan. The payment plan is only available for the first part of term. One additional installment of the remaining balance will be due on the designated due date. See the Registration Information booklet for specific dates.
A STUDENT WHO FAILS TO MAKE FULL PAYMENT OF TUITION AND FEES, INCLUDING ANY INCIDENTAL FEES, BY THE DUE DATE MAY BE PROHIBITED FROM REGISTERING FOR CLASSES UNTIL FULL PAYMENT IS MADE. A STUDENT WHO FAILS TO MAKE PAYMENT PRIOR TO THE END OF THE TERM MAY BE DENIED CREDIT FOR THE WORK DONE THAT TERM.
If a check or EFT is returned unpaid for any reason other than the admitted error of the bank, the student must pay for the returned check with cash, cashier’s check, money order or credit card (MasterCard, VISA, Discover, Diners Club or American Express) immediately. A $30.00 service fee is assessed for each returned check. Until the check is paid, the student will be on “Cash Only” status. Cash Only status is a denial of check cashing privileges on campus.
Individuals who have three returned checks or EFT within a 12-month period will be placed on Cash Only status.
Stopping payment on a check for fees or allowing the check to be returned unpaid by the bank for any reason does not constitute official withdrawal. Failure to follow procedures for withdrawing from Texas State may result in financial penalties and delays with future enrollment in the University.
Residency for Tuition Purposes
The determination of residency classification for tuition purposes is governed by statutes enacted by the Texas Legislature and rules and regulations promulgated by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. A student or applicant is classified either as a resident of Texas, a non-resident, or a foreign student for tuition purposes. An individual’s residency classification is based on information from his or her admission application. If an applicant or student is classified as a non-resident and wishes to be considered for reclassification as a resident, it is necessary to submit the Residency Core Questions available from the Office of Undergraduate Admission. Documentation may be requested by the institution in order to resolve issues raised by the information provided in response to the Core Residency Questions.
Chapter 21 of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board Rules includes the following provisions covering some of the more common residency situations. They are neither exhaustive nor complete and should not be interpreted as such. Full regulations are available in the Coordinating Board publication Rules and Regulations for Determining Residency Status available at http://www.collegeforalltexans.com/ (Search: Residency).
Determination of Residence Status
- The following persons shall be classified as Texas residents and entitled to pay resident tuition:
- a person who graduated from a public or accredited private high school in this state or received the equivalent of a high school diploma in this state, and maintained a residence continuously in this state for the thirty-six months immediately preceding the date of graduation or receipt of the diploma equivalent, as applicable; and the 12 months preceding the census date of the academic term in which the person enrolls in an institution.
- a person who established a domicile in this state not less than 12 months before the census date of the academic term in which the person enrolls in an institution; and maintained a residence continuously in the state for the 12 months immediately preceding the census date of the academic term in which the person enrolls in an institution.
- a dependent whose parent established a domicile in this state not less than 12 months before the census date of the academic term in which the person enrolls in an institution; and maintained a residence continuously in the state for the 12 months immediately preceding the census date of the academic term in which the person enrolls in an institution.
- The following non-U.S. citizens may establish a domicile in this state for the purposes of subsection (a) (2) or (3) of this section:
- a Permanent Resident;
- a person who is eligible for permanent resident status;
- an eligible nonimmigrant that holds one of the approved types of visas. A complete list is available on the Coordinating Board website at http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/Rules/
- a person classified by the USCIS as a Refugee, Asylee, Parolee, Conditional Permanent Resident, or Temporary Resident;
- a person holding Temporary Protected Status, and Spouses and Children with approved petitions under the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA), an applicant with an approved USCIS I-360, Special Agricultural Worker, and a person granted deferred action status by USCIS;
- a person who has filed an application for Cancellation of Removal and Adjustment of Status under Immigration Nationality Act 240A (b) or a Cancellation of Removal and Adjustment of Status under the Nicaraguan and Central American Relief Act (NACARA), Haitian Refugee Immigrant Fairness Act (HRIFA), or the Cuban Adjustment Act, and who has been issued a fee/filing receipt or Notice of Action by USCIS; and
- a person who has filed for adjustment of status to that of a person admitted as a Permanent Resident under 8 United States Code 1255, or under the "registry" program (8 United States Code 1259), or the Special Immigrant Juvenile Program (8 USC 1101(a) (27) (J)) and has been issued a fee/filing receipt or Notice of Action by USCIS.
- The domicile of a dependent's parent is presumed to be the domicile of the dependent unless the dependent establishes eligibility for resident tuition under subsection (a) (1) of this section.
- A domicile in Texas is presumed if, at least 12 months prior to the census date of the term in which he or she is to enroll, the person owns real property in Texas, owns a business in Texas, or is married to a person who has established a domicile in Texas. Gainful employment other than work-study and other such student employment can also be a basis for establishing a domicile.
- The temporary absence of a person or a dependent's parent from the state for the purpose of service in the U.S. Armed Forces, Public Health Service, Department of Defense, U.S. Department of State, as a result of an employment assignment, or for educational purposes, shall not affect a person's ability to continue to claim that he or she is a domiciliary of this state. The person or the dependent's parent shall provide documentation of the reason for the temporary absence.
- The temporary presence of a person or a dependent's parent in Texas for the purpose of service in the U.S. Armed Forces, Public Health Service, Department of Defense or service with the U.S. Department of State, or as a result of any other type of employment assignment does not preclude the person or parent from establishing a domicile in Texas.
A non-resident or foreign student may qualify to pay in-state tuition. Students should direct questions and documentation for these waivers to Student Business Services.
- The student or student’s spouse or parent is a member of the Armed Forces or a commissioned officer of the Public Health Service and is stationed in Texas. (Military and Public Health Service personnel who maintain their official home of record as Texas or who meet the criteria for establishing a domicile in Texas are considered to be Texas residents.)
- The student or student’s spouse or parent is employed at least half-time as a teaching or research assistant in a position related to the assistant’s degree program at a Texas public institution of higher education.
- The student or student’s spouse or parent is employed at least half-time on a regular monthly salaried basis as a teacher or professor at a Texas public institution of higher education.
- The student holds an approved competitive scholarship from Texas State of at least $1000 for the academic year or summer awarded by an official Texas State scholarship committee.
- The student or student’s spouse or parent has located in Texas as an employee of a business or organization that became established in this state as part of the state economic development and diversification program. (Note: Go to http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/Rules/ Chapter 21, Sub Chapter X for a list of qualified employers.)
- The student is a New Mexico resident who resides in a county bordering Texas.
- The student is a Louisiana resident who resides in a parish bordering Texas.
- The student is a resident of Mexico who has demonstrated a financial need as determined by the financial aid office.