Tuition and Fees

The tuition and fees rates are available on the Student Business Services website.

The University reserves the right to change fees in keeping with the acts of the Texas Legislature and the Board of Regents of the Texas State University System.

Tuition

Doctoral Excess Hours (99 hour Rule)

In accordance with Texas Education Code §54.012, the university will incur a penalty once a doctoral student accumulates 100 or more doctoral semester credit hours.  In response, the Texas State University System has a tuition structure (excessive hours fee) in which a doctoral student will be charged tuition at a rate equivalent to non-resident tuition for all doctoral semester credit hours exceeding 99.  Courses taken by a doctoral student at the master’s or undergraduate level will not count towards the 99 hours.  If the student is admitted to a doctoral program from the bachelor’s degree, the count begins after 30 hours of graduate coursework.  This tuition structure applies to Texas residents as well as out-of-state residents and international students who were eligible to be charged tuition at the resident rate as a result of scholarship and fellowship awards or employment as Graduate Assistants.  Students should contact the Ph.D. Program Director regarding this appeal process.

Special Fees and Charges

Admission Application Fee (mandatory & non-refundable) $75.00
Admissions Application & Evaluation Fee for International Applicants (mandatory & non-refundable) $90.00
Athletic Training Fee (to sophomores who have earned competitive admission to the undergraduate athletic training education program) $100.00
Auditing Fee same as if course were taken for credit
Certificate Fee (payable when applying for teacher certification)
Texas Standard Certificate
$77.00
Deficiency Plan Fees (for students seeking teacher certification)
First Plan
$75.00
Additional Plans (each)
$25.00
Late Payment Fee $65.00
Electronic Course Fee $50.00/semester credit hour
Evaluation of Foreign Credentials (for domestic applicants) $15.00
Payment Plan Enrollment Fee (for handling & other processing) $30.00
Late Registration Fee
Prior to initial payment deadline
$25.00
1st 7 class days - fall/spring
$100.00
1st 2 class days - summer
$25.00
8th-12th class day - fall/spring
$200.00
3rd-4th class days - summer
$25.00
Off-Campus Course Fee $30.00/semester credit hour
Transfer, International, and Other Types Orientation Fee $60.00
Physical Therapy Application Fee $50.00
Post-Baccalaureate Teaching Intern Application Fee $500.00
Returned Item Fee (for handling and other processing) $30.00
Transcript Fee (official copy) $5.00

Laundry Service Fees for Physical Education Uniforms

Laundry Service Fees

For individuals who wish to use the university physical education uniforms, fees are as follows:

  • Student $7.00 per summer term
  • Faculty/Staff $50.00 per twelve months